Building Renovation 1986-1987

L.A. Anderberg, Executive Director of the the Stevens Point Area YMCA from 1982-1987, oversaw the development of the YMCA’s endowment fund as well as a successful
1.2 million Capital Campaign for building renovation and debt elimination.

Beginning in 1986 through 1987, the Y installed a new gym floor, remodeled its fitness and gymnastics centers, and improved the energy efficiency of the building’s infrastructure.

Vern Holmes served as campaign co-chairman and Robert Taylor as YMCA President, with a building committee composed of John Roberts as chair, and Paul Adamski, Jim Boston, Ron Budelier, Tim Copps, Vern Holmes, Prosper Kluck, Edie Kraus, George May, Gerry O’Brien, Judy Picconatto, and Andy Risberg as members.

Below, members of the YMCA’s Youth Soccer Team hold up the total amount of pledges reached by mid-April 1986.

August 19th, 2018|Categories: Community, Members|